Council Memo

Approval of the Official Canvass of the City of Prescott Primary Election held on August 27, 2019.


Department:City ClerkSponsors:

Document Comments

Recommended Action: MOVE to approve the City of Prescott Official Canvass for the August 27, 2019 Primary Election.


Item Summary


The attached document reflects the “Unofficial Final Results” of the City of Prescott

Primary Election held on August 27, 2019, provided by Yavapai County, which

conducted the election on behalf of the City. The results become final and official upon

the Council action recommended herein.




The City of Prescott held its vote-by-mail Primary Election on August 27, 2019. The

ballot included the two-year term Mayor seat, three four-year term Council seats. Out of the 30,469 registered voters in the City, 15,960 ballots were cast, providing a 52.38% voter turnout.


Based on the results of the election, Greg Mengarelli received the majority of valid ballots cast for the two-year term Mayor seat.


Cathey Rusing and Billie Orr received the majority of valid ballots cast for two four-year terms for councilmember. Neither Jim Lamerson nor Steve Sischka received majority, therefore a General (Run-off) Election will take place on November 5, 2019. The election will be an all-mail ballot, in the same manner as the Primary Election.


Financial Impact


The cost of the 2019 Primary Election was $68,555.25. Funding is available in the City Clerk’s Budget.

Meeting History

Sep 10, 2019 3:00 PM  City Council Voting Meeting
draft Draft

This Item was pulled from the Consent Agenda by Councilman Blair for further discussion.

Councilman Blair commented that he would like to hear the names of the elected Councilmembers and the County Statement should be read as it has been in the past.

City Clerk Maureen Scott reviewed the Primary Election results and turnout. She stated that Mayor Mengarelli received a majority vote and was re-elected that two of the Council seats received a majority vote, Billie Orr and Cathey Rusing were elected and will be sworn in on November 19. The third Council seat did not receive a majority vote and there will be a General Election and run-off for that position on November 5.

Councilwoman Scholl thanked the voters for participating, she said that it is impressive to have a turnout of greater than 50% in an odd year primary election.

MOVER:Alexa Scholl, Councilwoman
SECONDER:Steve Sischka, Councilman
AYES:Greg Mengarelli, Billie Orr, Steve Blair, Phil Goode, Jim Lamerson, Alexa Scholl, Steve Sischka